What is Professional Development

I just thought I’d write a blog about my experiences with professional development or PD. As a teacher, you are expected to engage in PD. But exactly what is PD? Is it formal or informal, and when and how do you participate. (These are all questions I asked by the way). For example, taking the PIDP is considered PD, but I’ve also been involved in low key two hour fun filled workshops that are also considered PD. I am the first to tell you that I am not an expert in this field, but I’ve come across a few short videos that I have found to be helpful in defining PD. Hopefully these examples will help new or soon to be new teachers with navigating the mysterious world of PD. Here are the links to the PD videos.

https://www.edutopia.org/video/using-video-professional-development

licences-creative-commons-droit-auteur-gracile-concept

Leave a comment